Reviews

CHECK AVAILABILITY

Enjoyable visit - Rating 5/5

Lovely room, good food and very friendly hosts. Ideally situated for what we wanted to do.

Reviewer:Reg G | Fri 28th Sep 2018 | 6 months ago


Top quality - Rating 5/5

Very attentive and caring hosts. Lovely room (superior double):clean and stylish, as was the whole hotel, with all mod cons and a very comfortable bed. Good breakfast.Easy parking- short walk to Gainsborough Old Hall, which is fabulous.Just what we hoped for.

Reviewer:Susan G | Mon 24th Sep 2018 | 6 months ago


Hickman Hill - comments - Rating 5/5

Room was ready even though we arrived early. Our room was great, newly refurbished to high standard with good in-room facilities. Near to town centre. Attended wedding nearby so only had breakfast in hotel - very good, freshly cooked with a good selection of buffet and cooked items.The owner who welcomed us was very friendly and professional, arranging a taxi for us and making sure everything was OK. We recommend staying at Hickman Hill.

Reviewer:Kay m | Mon 24th Sep 2018 | 6 months ago


stay at Hickman Hill Hotel - Rating 5/5

I would recommend this hotel to any-one who wants a relaxing evening after either a hard day at work or just a day out, the owners are very welcoming and friendly, weather you eat in the bar area or restaurant, the food is excellent, I recommend the belly pork and black pudding as a starter, the braised beef and mushroom sauce was beautiful, I will defiantly stay again, for business or pleasure.

Reviewer:Ashley b | Sat 1st Sep 2018 | 7 months ago


Crisp, clean, efficient, friendly, value for £ - Rating 5/5

see review title

Reviewer:Mike F | Sat 1st Sep 2018 | 7 months ago


Great place to stay while in Gainsborough - Rating 4/5

Nice and friendy, Room really nice, Food really good.excellent value for money

Reviewer:Andrew C | Mon 27th Aug 2018 | 7 months ago


small hotel Big Surprise - Rating 5/5

This was our first stay Aug but won't be our last a stylish hotel with an eye for detail and excellent food made to order by an accomplish chef/ownerThus hotel caters for group events which we would avoid but staying when the garden looks this lovely was very relaxing.We had a large double ensuite with a powerful shower and stayed for an evening meal - all faultless and we were disappointed not to be able to return on 1st Sept but the golfers ate in for a treat

Reviewer:C | Sat 11th Aug 2018 | 8 months ago


Excellent again - Rating 5/5

Hickman Hill is going from strength to strength. The room was spotless and extremely comfortable - even in the height of summer. We ate in the restaurant and were very impressed by the quality of the food. Thanks again for a really comfortable and pleasant stay.

Reviewer:Jenny F | Thu 26th Jul 2018 | 8 months ago


Lovely welcome - Rating 4/5

Very good hospitality, nice big rooms and quiet. Ideal to get away from generic hotels. Lovely fresh fruit at breakfast and good home made meals.Thank you for making me comfortable during my stay.

Reviewer:Jenny F | Thu 14th Jun 2018 | 10 months ago


Wonderful stay- Rating 5/5

Very hospitality och nice stay. Thank you!

Reviewer:Mervi K | Thu 24th May 2018 | 11 months ago


Lovely place to stay- Rating 5/5

Absolutely love the room,great place to stayBreakfast was cook to perfect and had a great choice to choose from.

Reviewer:Brian F | Tue 15th May 2018 | 11 months ago


pleasantly surprised! - Rating 5/5

Booked hotel online with no problems.Our room was amazing, the owner had thought of everything.Bed was super comfy.I would defo stay here again and recommend to friends and family.

Reviewer:Abi M | Mon 19th Mar 2018 | 1 year ago


A Hotel with Personal Touch - Rating 5/5

Lovely rooms, excellent food and friendly staff who are willing to go the extra mile to make your stay as comfortable as possible. I will be staying again and recommend this hotel.

Reviewer:David B | Mon 22nd Jan 2018 | 1 year ago


Excellent!- Rating 5/5

Wonderful rooms, people and food would definitely recommend

Response

Dear Melanie,Thank you for the excellent comments which are greatly appreciated.

Reviewer:Melanie W | Thu 5th Oct 2017 | 1 year ago


Polished and personal - Rating 5/5

Everything here is top quality, the beds, linen, cleanliness, showers and food. The standard is as high as one expects in a top hotel but we thought that the personal service and sincere friendliness is so much better than you get in those hotels. Nothing was too much trouble, including providing me with fresh, delicious and imaginative vegan food. If you are coming to Gainsborough, or the area, staying here would make your visit a real pleasure.

Response

Dear Mr and Mrs Sinyard,It was a pleasure to cook vegan food for your recent stay. We hope you had a relaxing and recuperative stay. If you require another short break we would be happy to repeat the service. Thank you so much for the very kind comments.

Reviewer:Mr & Mrs S | Sun 9th Jul 2017 | 1 year ago


Excellent- Rating 5/5

Very attentive hosts, did everything to make our stay enjoyable. Bedroom very nice, really comfortable beds. Breakfast excellent. Would definitely stay if in the area again.

Response

Thank you Julie. We really appreciate your comments.

Reviewer:Mrs. Julie Mcmullen| Thu 8th Jun 2017 | 1 year ago


What s wonderful find - Rating 5/5

What a wonderful find this hotel was.Warm and welcoming owners. A beautifulroom with the most comfortable luxurious bed.The room was Immaculately clean with tea and coffee making facilities (including a bar of chocolate, nice touch).The all inclusive breakfast was delicious.I have no complaints al all would certainly recommend to all.

Response

Thank you Becky and hope to see you again.

Reviewer:Becky W | Fri 26th May 2017 | 1 year ago


Celebration - Rating 5/5

Nothing was to much trouble, asked for a bottle of champagne could be in the bedroom, sorted no problem. A lovely room with a fantastic bed and shower. Food was excellent with a very good choice and nice wines. Would not hesitate to go again.

Response

Dear Robin,It was a pleasure to meet you both. Thank you for the kind comments and hope to see you when another celebration beckons.

Reviewer:Mr. Robin L | Mon 1st May 2017 | 1 year ago


Restful after long tiring journey\" - Rating 5/5

Good duck meal and excellent sleep. What more would I need?

Reviewer:ALAN H | Fri 17th Mar 2017 | 2 years ago


Friendly & delicious food - Rating 5/5

Enjoyed a night in a comfortably, beautifully decorated bedroom. Delicious dinner and breakfast and friendly owners

Response

Dear Lucy,Thank you for the comments. Glad to hear you had such a nice stay. It was a pleasure to be of service to you and thanks for giving us such a great review.

Reviewer:Ms. Lucy H | Fri 2nd Dec 2016 | 2 years ago


very accomodating - Rating 5/5

Warm welcome, excellent food, lovely feather pillows and quiet room full of character. Will stay again.

Response

Thank you Jacquleline,Look forward to seeing you on your return to Gainsborough. Hopefully the taxi will be waiting for you next time!

Reviewer:Jacquleline B | Fri 7th Oct 2016 | 2 years ago


overnight stay - Rating 5/5

We only stayed the one night here, but I would happily recommend this small hotel, we were in the area to see friends we hadn't seen for years and they came to the hotel were we all had dinner, the food was exceptional, the room we had was lovely, bed comfortable, and one of the best shower I have ever used...and very very clean, on top of that the hosts are wonderful, stay you wont be disappointed.....by the way, Michelle and Rob, hope you love Santorini

Response

Hello Michelle,Thank you for the great comments and yes Santorini was fabulous. Hope to see you next time you visit your friends.

Reviewer:Michelle L | Mon 19th Sep 2016 | 2 years ago


One night stay - Rating 5/5

My daughter and I stayed here for a golf competition at Gainsborough. I can honestly say the way we were greeted and treated you would have thought we were regulars. Friendly, warm welcome, Rooms were very clean and comfortable. We had dinner in the restaurant that night and the food was really lovely too. If we play golf in the area again I would definitely stay here again.

Response

Dear Teresa,Hope you manage to qualify for next years tournament. Trust the goody bag was up to scratch! Thank you for the warm words which are highly appreciated/

Reviewer:Mrs. teresa d | Tue 6th Sep 2016 | 2 years ago


First class all round - Rating 5/5

Lovely room, great setting and food delicious.A great stay.

Response

Dear Lesley,Glad that you appreciated the room and the food. Trusting you had a good day at Blyton Park.

Reviewer:Mrs. Lesley B | Tue 23rd Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


Fantastic - Rating 5/5

Room and décor was great, as was the food. Staff very friendly. Fast wifi. Very impressed.

Response

Dear Mark,Thank you for your comments especially regarding broadband speed, which is so very important these days. Hope to see you sometime soon.

Reviewer:Mr. Mark C | Wed 17th Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


A Lovely Place to Stay and Relax - Rating 5/5

We had a short but lovely time at the hotel, with a warm welcome, great rooms with very comfortable beds and a lovely breakfast to set us up the rest of the day. The only bad point was that we couldn't stay longer. Would thoroughly recommend this hotel for any traveller.

Response

Thank you Ian, we very much appreciate your comments.

Reviewer:Ian B | Mon 8th Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


Excellent Hotel - Rating 5/5

We booked a last minute room at the Hickman Hill Hotel and due to delayed meetings throughout the day arrived late in the evening. The staff were extremely welcoming, the service faultless and the hotel absolutely beautiful. As a multinational company, we use a lot of hotels independent and international chains. This is definitely one of the best hotels that we have had the pleasure of staying in.

Response

Dear Colin,Thank you for the great review. It was a pleasure to be of service and hope to see you at a future date.

Reviewer:Mr. Colin Q | Sun 7th Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


Short but lovely stay - Rating 5/5

Very comfortable room, attentive and efficient service and a delicious breakfast. Gardens were very pretty. Overall, a pleasant stay at a well-run establishment.

Response

Dear Mrs Shepherd,Thank you for the excellent review. We put much effort into the garden over the summer months and are glad you enjoyed it.

Reviewer:Mrs S | Sat 30th Jul 2016 | 2 years ago


Great place to stay in Gainsborough - Rating 5/5

I have stayed at this hotel before with my wife and more recently on my own. On both occasions I found the accommodation to be of very high quality and the reception provided by the hosts very welcoming. Breakfast and Dinner were exceptional. I will visit again.

Response

Thank you Bruce and look forward to seeing you again.

Reviewer:Mr. Bruce A | Sat 9th Jul 2016 | 2 years ago


Hickman Hill Hotels - Rating 5/5

Excellent reception from staff and lovely room with relaxing outlook. All amenities available in room. Comfy bed and great breakfast folowing my evening out.Excellent service.

Reviewer:Mrs. karen r | Mon 27th Jun 2016 | 2 years ago


Astounding - Rating 5/5

The service could not have been better, and I hope my future visits are just satisfactory:o

Reviewer:Mr. Josh W | Sat 25th Jun 2016 | 2 years ago


Fantastic stay at hickman hill hotel - Rating 5/5

Having children and both working, partner works away monday to friday. I booked us a night away. First time staying here, was very surprised how relaxing our stay was. Beautiful room. Amazing comfy bed. But best of all a lovely welcome by owners, very friendly and helful. Cant wait to book again! Went home relaxed and ready for a new week 😊See you again soon xx

Reviewer:Katherine O | Mon 13th Jun 2016 | 2 years ago


Excellent Stay - Rating 5/5

The Hickman is an independently run hotel. I had the most enjoyable stay and the meals were excellent. I would certainly recommend a stay here, friendly, comfortable and good value.

Reviewer:William M | Fri 20th May 2016 | 2 years ago


Hickman Hill Hotel - Rating 5/5

Elderly couple staying for one night only. A great pity we couldn't stay longer. Peaceful, comfortable, excellent food, very pleasant staff. We were sorry to leave.

Reviewer:Stephen F | Sun 15th May 2016 | 2 years ago


Good night sleep - Rating 4/5

Clean and friendly place to stay.

Reviewer:Katarzyna D | Fri 1st Apr 2016 | 3 years ago


Wonderful! - Rating 5/5

I stayed 6 nights at the Hickman Hill Hotel while attending a local seminar, and enjoyed myself thoroughly.The room was spotless and beautifully appointed, the bed beautifully comfortable and inviting, and the bathroom facilities clean and modern, down to the heated towels.The hosts were wonderful--informative, friendly and helpful.Delicious breakfasts were included, and the option of dinner also available (very nice choices and extremely well prepared and presented).When you stay at this hotel, you are treated as a welcome guest.If ever I am back from the States and have the opportunity to pass through again, would definitely stay here.

Reviewer:Michele M | Fri 25th Mar 2016 | 3 years ago


My experience - Rating 4/5

Very clean tidy room loved the traditional decor .polite helpful staff lovely breakfast .Need sign closer to road hard to locate wished i should off asked for a room with a bath.

Reviewer:Lee C | Wed 23rd Mar 2016 | 3 years ago


Great hotel experiance - Rating 5/5

Food, room and service all excellent, pricing above average but worth it

Reviewer:James R | Wed 10th Feb 2016 | 3 years ago


Wonderful- Rating 5/5

In staying here you are not buying accommodation you are investing in an experience. A wonderful place hosted by the lovely, caring and professional Michelle and Robert. It's a haven and a treat to stay here.

Response

Dear Nial,Thank you for the splendid review. We sincerely hope to continue the experience and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewer:Mr. Nial O | Sat 28th Nov 2015 | 3 years ago


Great location and wonderful hosts - Rating 5/5

Stayed here in advance of an early meeting, lovely room and our hosts couldn't do enough for us.Very kindly kept the kitchen open for me as I had major train delay issues, and provided delicious food for dinner and for breakfast in the morning.Then an easy walk into Gainsborough!Absolutely recommend.

Reviewer:Adam R | Sun 25th Oct 2015 | 3 years ago


A Gem - Rating 5/5

What a gem of hotel. Great welcome, wonderful large,quiet room full of character and style and excellent food. Couldn't ask for more really.

Reviewer:John M | Thu 2nd Jul 2015 | 3 years ago


Overnight stay - Rating 5/5

Very pleasant welcome.Room was large and well appointedExcellent serviceWill stay again if the need arises in the area

Reviewer:Mr. Ron W | Fri 26th Jun 2015 | 3 years ago


Weekend Break - Rating 5/5

Stayed at the Hickman Hill in June 2015 found the Hotel excellent,lovely Bed and room Breakfast good,Owners could not have been nicer,a tadge expensive but I'm being picky,would stay again!

Response

Dear Mark,Thank you for posting a review so quickly.We are very appreciative of your comments and look forward to welcoming you at a future date.

Reviewer:Lord-Mark S | Mon 22nd Jun 2015 | 3 years ago


Excellent B&B - Rating 5/5

had a great stay. highly recommend the hotel.

Response

Dear Ioanna,Thank you for the comments and it was nice to have met you. Hope the kettle ball training was beneficial to you!

Reviewer:Miss. Ioanna K | Mon 22nd Jun 2015 | 3 years ago


Very comfortable and friendly small hotel.- Rating 4/5

Excellent food served on hot plates. Luxurious, good quality linen and superior toiletries. Kind and helpful hosts.Plenty of parking.Our room was very clean and well decorated.The general parts of the hotel are very clean but the decor is a little dark and needs refreshing in places.

Response

Dear Diana,Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We have noted your very kind comments which we are always pleased to receive. As we are constantly looking at ways to improve both the interior & exterior of the hotel and we certainly hope to address the areas you mention very soon.

Reviewer:Diana G | Sat 30th May 2015 | 3 years ago


Lovely hotel - Rating 5/5

We really enjoyed our short stay at the Hickman Hotel, spotlessly clean and the food was very good.. Service top notch, friendly owners. Will certainly go back.

Response

Dear Kevin,Thank you for the wonderful review, especially with regards to food and service. We really appreciate the feedback and hope to see you in the future.

Reviewer:Kevin P | Mon 25th May 2015 | 3 years ago


weekend away - Rating 4/5

What a beautiful place.Reminded me of a french house.Through the entrance into the lounge, a roaring fire in the huge fireplace greeted us on such a cold day.Bedrooms were pretty and comfortable.The evening meal was delicious, burst of different flavours to the palate.The hosts, nothing was too much trouble and their care to detail was to be commended.

Response

Dear Hazel,Thank you for the lovely review and the comments about ourselves. We are pleased you had a good time and look forward to welcoming you in the future.

Reviewer:Hazel G | Wed 11th Feb 2015 | 4 years ago


A little bit of luxury in Gainsborough - Rating 5/5

We were the only guests that Sunday night. We had dinner in the hotel and there was no problem in choosing whatever time we wanted. The food was excellent, especially the pork belly.We both had a comfy nights sleep followed by a hearty breakfast.If anything I would contest that the B&B rate is too high for the area and for what is provided, albeit to a high standard. We would consider staying again but are mindful of the rate

Response

Dear Jonathan,Thank you for the review and your great comments regarding the food and room. As an independent hotel we have considerably higher overheads than those of the larger chain hotels and offer a different style of service which is reflected in our price.We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.

Reviewer:Mr. Jonathan T | Wed 7th Jan 2015 | 4 years ago


What a fab place!! - Rating 4/5

arrived here prior to a wedding the next day, was worried that we would be late for dinner, but the proprietor couldn't have been more accommodating and e mailed us the menu so that he could have the supper ready when we arrived at 9:00 pm. When we arrived we were greeted by Michelle, who was so welcoming and showed us to our room which was fabulously appointed with gorgeous furnishings and decor, to a boutique style. We were made to feel very welcome and they were so helpful with local knowledge that we needed to know to get to the wedding the next day. The food was pretty good too, with a lovely choice for breakfast. Would definitely recommend this hotel to others without hesitation.

Response

Dear Melanie,Thank you for the very kind comments and we are glad that you enjoyed the room. If you are ever back in Gainsborough it would be a pleasure to see you both again.

Reviewer:Miss. Melanie S | Sun 23rd Nov 2014 | 4 years ago


Friendly and good quality - Rating 5/5

Full of quirky character, clean &friendly. Great food and attentive service.Travelling as a woman on business, this hotel felt very safe and I would definitely stay again.

Response

Thank you Julia,Your comments are highly appreciated and we hope to see you at a future date.

Reviewer:Julia H | Mon 13th Oct 2014 | 4 years ago


Amazing food- Rating 5/5

Lovely individual hotel, large comfortable rooms. Delightful owners giving personal care and4* restaurant food

Response

Dear Christine,Your compliments are greatly appreciated and we have also passed on your remarks to our housekeeping team and kitchen staff. Thank you and hope to see you again if you are in the area.

Reviewer:Christine S | Fri 3rd Oct 2014 | 4 years ago


Nice room, good food- warm velcome - Rating 5/5

Spend one night in Hickman Hill Hotel,my room was fantastic. Nice bed, with a lot of pillows and smooth linen. Great newly renovated bathroom - very beautiful. Warm welcoming by the host. Good, freshly homemade food and drinks. Good breakfast with fresh fruit served, even this was not ordered. If i am ever in the area again, I weil definately stay at Hickmann Hill Hotel:-)

Response

Dear Anne,Glad you enjoyed one of our Superior Rooms.All our food is sourced locally where possible and cooked to order.Look forward to seeing you the next time you are in Gainsborough.

Reviewer:Anne T | Thu 25th Sep 2014 | 4 years ago


Thank you - Rating 5/5

A warm welcome and a really lovely room with large comfy bed, modern and tasteful decor and the largest towel I have ever seen. Excellent, thank you.

Response

Thank you for the lovely review. Let's hope you manage to win that golf competition next year!

Reviewer:Caroline G | Tue 9th Sep 2014 | 4 years ago


beautiful hotel - Rating 5/5

Triple room was fantastic 3 single beds so there was no arguing over which of my 2 friends got to cuddle me :)The hotel was beautiful and the gardens were just fabulousBreakfast was just what we needed after our night outWe would definitely book again great place to stay

Response

Dear Susan,Thank you for the comments regarding the garden. We always try to make it look nice and colourful in the summer months. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and very much look forward to welcoming you and your friends in the future.

Reviewer:Miss. Susan B | Tue 12th Aug 2014 | 4 years ago


super experience - Rating 5/5

We had a short but wonderful stay ! We felt so welcomed. The dinner in the restaurant was exellent! We would recommanded it to everyone who likes good food. Room was so cosy and clean ! Breakfast also very good! This hotel is more than worth the price. Will come back here!!!

Response

Dear Stefaan,Thank you for the great review.It was a pleasure to meet you both and we look forward to seeing you next year.

Reviewer:Stefaan L | Mon 11th Aug 2014 | 4 years ago


Very Friendly - Rating 5/5

I visited Gainsborough for a friends wedding.The hotel is amazing.Everyone is very friendly and the rooms are divine.Will certainly be back to stay again.

Response

Thank you for the very nice comments. Hope to see you again soon.

Reviewer:Mr Simon L | Mon 21st Jul 2014 | 4 years ago


Very good - Rating 4/5

Our stay at the Hickman was fantastic,we were met with a warm welcome and shown to our room that was delightfully spacious and our 19 month old had lots of fun exploring his new space andespecially the fish in the pond. Lovely place and would highly recommend it.Breakfast was included in the price and as soon as we took our seats we were given a large bowl of fresh fruit which was love.The service was very good over all.I would highly recommend this hotel.

Reviewer:Rebecca B | Sun 22nd Jun 2014 | 4 years ago


A Real Gem - Rating 5/5

The owners went out of their way to make us feel welcome here. the room was beautifully decorated and fitted out. The best range of in room teas and infusions I think I've seen in a hotel room. The breakfast was also lovely with fresh fruit salad and a good range of cereals. Full cooked for those that want it.

Response

Thank you Linda, we are very happy that you enjoyed your all to brief stay. Looking forward to seeing you next time you are in transit from my alma mater to Newcastle.

Reviewer:Linda S | Mon 26th May 2014 | 4 years ago


Polder professionals- Rating 4/5

We came ascolleaguesof different ages for a short stay en route and found a very hospitable and interestinghotel that was really comfortable and with excellent food. Such a change from the boring chain hotel model. Really good attention to detail especially to mattresses and linen. Also very good attention to guests who needed disabled access and those who care for them.Really would like to recommend this hotel.

Response

Dear Eibhlin,Thank you very much for the kind review. All our linen is 100% cotton and many of our mattresses are hand made.We do pay special attention to our disabled guests and try to make their stay as comfortable as possible. Hope to see you again one day.

Reviewer:Eibhlin I | Sun 25th May 2014 | 4 years ago


Jonathan - Rating 4/5

A great reception and a very comfortable stay.The food was excellent.

Response

Thank you for the comments. We trust the last leg of your tour was not too strenuous!If you are ever on a Tour de Lincolnshire again we would be happy to welcome you both.

Reviewer:Jonathan K | Thu 24th Apr 2014 | 4 years ago


Hickman Hill Hotel - Rating 5/5

Very welcoming and an excellent evening meal:strongly recommended!

Response

Dear Chris,We greatly appreciate your very kind comments and hope to see you again.

Reviewer:Mr. Chris S | Sun 20th Apr 2014 | 5 years ago


Stayed for 1 night - Rating 5/5

Stayed for one night as I travelled to Gainsborough for a job interview.Hotel and service was fantastic. Would highly recommend.

Response

Dear Dominic,Thank you very much for the kind words and hope you had great success from your interview.

Reviewer:Mr. Dominic T | Wed 26th Mar 2014 | 5 years ago


recent stay - Rating 4/5

I stayed in the room named William. It was warm, clean, and very comfortable.The food was delicious, the service, very good, and I did not have any complaints.I would recommend Hickman Hill Hotel and would stay there again if I was in the area.

Response

Dear Donna,Thank you for your exceedingly kind comments. They are very much appreciated.

Reviewer:Mrs. Donna M | Wed 12th Feb 2014 | 5 years ago


Nice Hotel - Rating 4/5

Stayed for 1 night and was made to feel very welcome.The owners were lovely and couldn't do enough for us, we had a lovely breakfast all freshly cooked. Would recommend this hotel.

Response

Thank you Paul,We very much appreciate your kind comments.

Reviewer:Paul R | Mon 14th Oct 2013 | 5 years ago


lovely Short Stay - Rating 4/5

Lovely room,Breakfast very good and staff veryFriendly,Would recommend very highly,

Response

Dear Jose,We are both glad you had a pleasant stay. Your comments are very much appreciated.

Reviewer:Jose W | Mon 16th Sep 2013 | 5 years ago


A Wonderful Place to Stay!- Rating 5/5

We have just spent a short stay at the Hickman Hill. Food, both breakfast and evening meal, was excellent! Room was clean, tidy and comfortable. The owners were the perfect hosts and nothing was too much trouble for them. An excellent stay and somewhere we will definitely visit again!

Response

Dear Jennifer,Thank you for the review.We are glad you had such a nice time and look forward to seeing you again.

Reviewer:Mrs. Jennifer H | Sun 1st Sep 2013 | 5 years ago


Weekend Visit - Rating 4/5

Lovely hotel run by two very warm and welcoming people. The breakfast was great and the garden lovely. Would recommend the hotel to any one visiting the area.

Response

Dear Mr O'brien,We are glad you had such a nice time and thank you very much for the comments.

Reviewer:Mr. Vincent O | Mon 5th Aug 2013 | 5 years ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

A small friendly very well appointed family run hotel just outside the town centre ensuring a peaceful stay.

Response

Thank you for your lovely comments which are truly appreciated.

Reviewer:Mr. Keith L | Thu 25th Jul 2013 | 5 years ago


Hickman's hill hotel is good - Rating 4/5

Nice room, very pleasant staff, very good breakfasts.

Response

Dear Philip,Thank you for the comments and hope the pictures all turned out OK by the pond.

Reviewer:Dr. PhilipB | Sun 19th May 2013 | 5 years ago


Engaging and comfy! - Rating 5/5

This was our second stay at Hickman Hill. The hotel is charming, thoughtfully decorated, the rooms are clean, comfortable, well cared for and the breakfast is excellent in terms of freshly cooked, good quality local ingredients. But the real highlight of this place is in the personalities of Robert and Michelle;friendly attentive hosts indeed! If you like the personal touch that comes from a small privately run hotel, then this place ticks all the boxes. We WILL return!

Response

Thank you Jane for your exceedingly kind comments.The Piper's Crisps will be ready for your return next year!

Reviewer:Ms. Jane F | Thu 21st Feb 2013 | 6 years ago


Hickman Hill Review - Rating 4/5

Friendly efficient reception. Good service and food. Website booking very easy.

Reviewer:Mr. Michael C | Wed 12th Dec 2012 | 6 years ago


'Hickman Hill Hotel' - Rating 5/5

Nice hotel and friendly owners A+++

Response

Thank you Tom and such a short stay.

Reviewer:Mr. Tom M | Wed 5th Dec 2012 | 6 years ago


Manchesterreview - Rating 5/5

An atmospheric hotel built within an old school.Comfortable rooms with excellent friendly service.My husband and I would stay here again.The price is fair with an excellent breakfast included

Response

Dear Dr Khan,Thank you for your kind comments. It was a pleasure to be of service and hope to see you again.

Reviewer:Dr. Shama K | Fri 30th Nov 2012 | 6 years ago


Historic Hickman Hotel - Rating 5/5

Wonderful Historic Hotel, once a grammar school. Wonderful staff and excellent food.Would definitely stay again if in the area. Thank you

Response

Dear Glynis,We hope the golf went well and thank you for the splendid review.

Reviewer:Mrs. Glynis O | Wed 12th Sep 2012 | 6 years ago


Wonderful find! - Rating 5/5

We were thrilled with our recent stay at the Hickman Hill Hotel. It was charming, very comfortable and the proprietors and staff were extremely friendly and accommodating. We enjoyed both dinner and breakfast in the dining room and were delighted with the outstanding cuisine. Gainsborough may not be a popular destination, but it's worth a detour for an overnight stay at this hotel, or even just for dinner. Hickman Hill Hotel is a gem!

Response

Dear Irene,We are glad you had such a good time and really appreciate your kind comments.

Reviewer:Mrs. IreneS | Sat 8th Sep 2012 | 6 years ago


Memorable Stay - Rating 5/5

Re-visiting Gainsborough and staying at Hickman Hill Hotel (once QEGS) for the first time, we could not have chosen better. We were personally looked after from the moment we arrived to the moment we left. Our room was spacious and well appointed and had a charm of its own. After an excellent breakfast our kind hosts showed us old school photographs from 1930's in which my Father could easily be found. A truly memorable stay:thank you so much.

Response

Thank you for the kind comments. Look forward to seeing you for the next family get together.

Reviewer:Mr. John N | Fri 31st Aug 2012 | 6 years ago


Short stay - Rating 5/5

Had a really comfortable stay and was made to feel really welcome.The food was great.Eight of us had a meal in the evening we all had something different and it was all presented and cooked really well.Breakfast was the best breakfast we have ever eaten in a hotel.Am surprised that it is only a 2 star but suspect that has more to do with the decor.Will we stay again absolutely!

Response

Dear Julie,Thank you for your kind comments. We look forward to welcoming you and the rest of the family again in the future.

Reviewer:Mrs. Julie P | Sat 18th Aug 2012 | 6 years ago


Best in Gainsborough for sure - Rating 5/5

Nice friendly atmosphere, good decor in rooms, top breakfast. Will return.

Reviewer:Mr. J T | Mon 23rd Jul 2012 | 6 years ago


Welcoming & Friendly - Rating 4/5

I stayed at the Hickman Hill Hotel for one night prior to meeting a client in Gainsborough. After a long 4 hour drive the welcome I received was both informal and friendly. I arrived later than planned but was made to feel that this was no problem at all and after unpacking was welcomed into the bar with a much needed drink and a menu from which to select dinner. The food is without doubt the hottest and freshest I have ever had - seriously, don't touch the plate!! Nothing seemed too much trouble and anything that could be done to make my stay for comfortable was done without being overly 'in your face'. My one reservation would be that the room decor and bathroom suite was a little tired and could do with modernising, it felt a bit like I was staying in my grandparent's spare room but it wouldn't stop me staying here again next time.

Reviewer:Mr. Paul T | Thu 24th May 2012 | 6 years ago


Hickman Hill - Gainsborough - Rating 5/5

Have used before and will do so again. Run by a very friendly couple who can give a bit more time to any little things you might require.PS - very nice steak for dinner!

Reviewer:Mrs. Jenny F | Wed 28th Mar 2012 | 7 years ago


Such a warm welcome - Rating 4/5

We were made to feel so welcome. The bedroom was very comfortable, superb breakfast and we would visit again or just pop in for a meal.

Reviewer:Mrs. Janet G | Mon 27th Feb 2012 | 7 years ago


Hickman Hill Hotel- Rating 5/5

Had a super stay at the Hickman Hill while visiting Lincoln Christmas market. The charming hosts couldn't have been more helpful and the food was as fantastic as the hospitality. Will definately stay there again if I get the chance! Julia Leigh

Response

Thank you Julia for the great revue.

Reviewer:Mrs. JuliaL | Tue 6th Dec 2011 | 7 years ago


Out of the Ordinary - Rating 4/5

Great welcome from enthuiastic hostess. The Music Room was "a little quirky"but very comfortable, you get lost under an avalache of pillows and cushions. Only two little gripes chest beside bed is too high, bashed my elbow and no shelf near small handbasin in the bathroom. Food excellent!!!! The Patron should go in for "Masterchef"

Response

Dear Mr Friend,You are very kind about the food. We agree about the lack of a decent shelf in the bathroom and will be doing something about it very shortly.

Reviewer:Mr. Robin F | Sun 4th Dec 2011 | 7 years ago


Birthdays who needs them!! - Rating 5/5

Hi this is Charles &Pam, we had a lovely stay over at Hickman Hill. It was a pleasure to meet you both, and chat with you. You have a lovely atmosphere ther. Hope we didn't bore you with the family stories. We hop to see you soon too. Best wishes to you. Charles

Reviewer:Mr. Charles O | Mon 3rd Oct 2011 | 7 years ago


gary & teresa - Rating 5/5

we really enjoyed our stay at the hickman hotel michelle and robert were very friendly and welcoming

Reviewer:Mr. Gary H | Sun 4th Sep 2011 | 7 years ago


Excellent hotel - Rating 5/5

Excellent hotel, lovely rooms, gorgeous food, and very nice couple who run it. Wouldn't have changed a thing!

Reviewer:Dr. Emma S | Wed 10th Aug 2011 | 7 years ago


3 Night Stay - Rating 3/5

A great welcome and friendly personal service/attention to the needs of this customer. Meals were of a very high standard, with prices to match. The interesting hotel building itself is a work-in-progress:our room was rather 'tired', but not all are.

Reviewer:Mr. Robert C | Mon 13th Jun 2011 | 7 years ago


A little gem - Rating 5/5

This is a little gem of a hotel that we would fully recomend to any one wanting a quiet peaceful weekend away. Excellent service, friendly and amazing food. Worth more than AA 2stars anyday.

Reviewer:Mr. George J | Mon 13th Jun 2011 | 7 years ago


4.8
Very Good

88 reviews

5
77%
4
22%
3
1%
2
0%
1
0%